New: Brexit medal – Great Britain leaves the European Union

from June 11, 2020


(Brexit, by Jan Paul Kruimel (2019), porcelain, cast, 80 mm., inv. nr. NEPK2432).

In the British nation-wide referendum of June 23, 2016, the majority of those who participated voted to leave the European Union. The subsequent negotiations between Great Britain and the EU about an agreement on the mutual trade relations after the so-called Brexit have so far proceeded extremely slowly and unsatisfactorily, with still no agreement in sight. December 31, 2020 marks the deadline – otherwise there will be no special deal. In that case the economic, social and psychological damage is expected to be large, both for the UK citizens who – as they call it – will then “have their country back”, as for the EU citizens.

For Jan Paul Kruimel the above Brexit saga was an ideal topic for a medal. Several times before he has chosen to mark shocking public events by designing a satirical medal (e.g. the demise of Slavenburg’s Bank, also in the NEPK collection, inv. nr. NEPK0873).

Description obverse: Sketchy map of Europe, with Great Britain elevated above the level of the map


Description reverse: Great Britain all alone and surrounded by borders and defensive works – a sharp pointed ring, a heavy chain and a fortress wall


New presentation: Nobel prize laureate Jan Tinbergen and his medals

(From September 2, 2019)


(Nobel prize medal for Economics, by Gunvor Svensson-Lundqvist (1968), gold, struck, 67 mm., inv. nr. NEPK0076)

On December 10, 2019 it is exactly 50 years since professor Jan Tinbergen and the Norwegian professor Ragnar Frisch received the Nobel Prize for Economics. They were the first recipients of this newly introduced Nobel Prize, which was awarded for their pioneering contributions to the field of Econometrics. The two are internationally regarded as the founders of this new branch of science. From 1933 to 1974 Tinbergen was professor of Statistics, Higher Mathematics and Mathematical Economics at the Netherlands School of Commerce, later renamed Netherlands School of Economics, predecessor of Erasmus University Rotterdam. With this presentation of the many medals of honour that Tinbergen received during his career, the university honours one of its most prominent scientists.

Location: Erasmus Gallery, Erasmus Building, Burgemeester Oudlaan 50, Rotterdam

Times: Monday through Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 5:30 p.m.

For location map and how to reach us:


Oldest medal in the NEPK collection (1531)


Erasmus himself has commissioned this medal, dated 1531. He presented the medal – just as the earlier large bronze medal made in 1519 – to friends or other persons important to him, e.g. persons who had done him an important service, as a token of gratitude and friendship. NEPK could acquire this medal for its collection thanks to the generous financial support by the Gebroeders Verschoor, the Barnabas Kossmann fund, and the Board of Erasmus University Rotterdam. Inv nr NEPK1850.

The portrait is based on that by Quinten Matsys (1519), see NEPK1335, as are the texts. Katz “Die Erzgebergische Prägemedaille des XVI. Jahrhunderts” and RBN-1920 attribute the medal to Hieronymous Magdeburger (died 1540). The present medal was realised using the screw press technique. Origin: Collection MA Snoeck, who was an important collector of coins and medals (Jhr Matthias Adriaan Snoeck * Hintham 25-4-1838 – + Hintham 2-4-1911) –> collection Beelaerts (Jhr Matthias Adriaan Beelaerts van Blokland *Pei-tai-ho (China) 3-8-1910 – + The Hague 14-10-1990).

Commissioning polder pumping station Den Beemd


Polder pumping station Den Beemd was commissioned on November,20 1991. Its location is in Water Board “Hoogheemraadschap van de Alblasserwaard – Vijfheeren-landen” (1984-2005), which since  January 1, 2005 is named Water Board “Rivierenland”. The pumping station can be found near the village of Hoornaar. It discharges its water into a small stream called Giessen, which flows into the larger Beneden Merwede, eventually discharging into the North Sea. The medal was designed by Henk van Bommel. It was presented to members of the water board, the construction company and other involved officials. Some 30 copies were made.

Inv nr NEPK2018.